15 measurable practices for a world-class software development organization

Published on McKinsey, February 2017, by Chandra Gnanasambandam is a senior partner in McKinsey’s Silicon Valley office, where Martin Harrysson is a partner, Rahul Mangla is an associate partner, and Shivam Srivastava is a consultant.

According to McKinsey’s software-maturity diagnostic framework, 15 practices across five stages define the software-development life cycle, and world-class companies typically excel in a majority of these areas (exhibit).

A post shared by Docio (@dociohq) on

15 measurable practices for a world-class software development organization

Setup Decisions
  • 1) Cloud migration path
  • 2) Platform choice
  • 3) Microservices / container architecture
Product Management Practices
  • 4) Product Management excellence
  • 5) Human-centric design
Product Development Practices
  • 6) DevOps (Continuous Integration / Continuous Delivery)
  • 7) Test automation & Test-driven development (TDD)
  • 8) API-based architecture (application programming interface)
  • 9) Productivity and quality
Product Delivery Practices
  • 10) Analytics and use of telemetry
  • 11) A/B testing
  • 12) Community-driven development
Enabling Elements
  • 13) Portfolio management and product economics
  • 14) Talent and governance
  • 15) Product security and risk management

Read the full "An executive’s guide to software development" at McKinsey ►


About Docio

Docio® is an automated Digital Risk Management (DRM) platform for CISOs, IT, and Risk leaders to gain insight across the entire security landscape—infrastructure, governance, and software.